How to download at MOODWINGS

MOODSWINGS doesn't host direct links any longer. All the links featured here are text files. You will have to download them, extract them (using the usual password) and open them to find your desired link.

Sunday, May 2, 2010


320 KBPS

Calling this August 1972 concert comprised exclusively of Stax artists "Wattstock" or even the "black Woodstock" pushes the boundaries of the day-long event past its breaking point. But there is no doubt that Wattstax, held in a jittery post-riot Watts atmosphere, was an iconic cultural milestone deserving of a better recorded legacy than the two double albums that initially emerged from it, both of which were surreptitiously padded with studio tracks to enhance the roster. This three-disc, nearly four-hour-long deluxe 35th anniversary edition gets it right--or more right--by excluding the bogus material, adding a over an hour of previously unreleased music, and presenting it in an expanded package that includes a detailed essay by Stax historian Rob Bowman. The show's gospel aspect is further highlighted with plenty of Staple Singers, the amazing Rance Allen Group, and obscure blues harp player Little Sonny ripping into an instrumental version of "Wade in the Water." Comedy snippets from a young Richard Pryor and Jesse Jackson's opening speech, which appeared in the associated film, could have been excised, but nearly entire sets from Carla and Rufus Thomas, the Bar-Kays, and David Porter are worthy additions. Only the ubiquitous "Theme from Shaft" remains from Isaac Hayes's hour-long closing, but his full performance is available separately. The Emotions, Johnny Taylor, Little Milton, and a few others who didn't play the actual festival were recorded at other L.A. venues in the days around the concert, bringing a bit of a spurious element to this otherwise classy souvenir from a historically important and vibrant occasion.

01. Dale Warren & The Wattstax' 72 Orchestra - Salvation Symphony (Previously Unreleased)
02. Rev. Jesse Jackson - Intoduction
03. Kim Weston - Lift Every Voice & Sing
04. The Staple Singers - Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na- Boom-Boom)(Previously Unreleased)
05. The Staple Singers - Are You Sure (Previously Unreleased)
06. The Staple Singers - I Like The Things About Me
07. The Staple Singers - Respect Yourself
08. The Staple Singers - I'll Take You There
09. Deborah Manning - Precious Lord, Take My Hand (Previously Unreleased)
10. Louise MCcord - Better Get A Move Onlouise MCcord
11. Lee Sain - Them Hot Pants (Previously Unreleased)
12. Little Sonny - Wade In The Water (Previously Unreleased)
13. William Bell - I Forgot To Be Your Lover (Previously Unreleased)
14. The Temprees - Explain It To Her Mamma (Previously Unreleased)
15. Frederick Knight - I've Been Loney (For So Long) (Previously Unreleased)
16. The Newcomers - Pin The Tail On The Donkey (Previously Unreleased)
17. Eddie Floyd - Knock On Wood

01. The Emotions - Peace Be Still
02. Golden - Old Time Religion
03. Rance Allen Group - Lying On The Truth
04. Rance Allen Group - Up Above My Head
05. The Bar-Kays - Son Of Shaftfeel It
06. The Bar-Kays - In The Hole
07. The Bar-Kays - I Can't Turn You Loose
08. The David Porter Show - Introduction
09. David Porter - Ain't That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One)
10. David Porter - Can't See You When I Want To
11. David Porter - Reach Out And Touch Somebody's Hand
12. Richard Pryor - Niggas
13. Richard Pryor - Arrestlineup
14. The Emotions - So I Can Love You
15. The Emotions - Group Introductionshow Me How

01. Little Milton - Open The Door To Your Heart
02. Mel & Tim - Backfield In Motion
03. Johnnie Taylor - Steal Away
04. Albert King - Killing Floor
05. Carla Thomas - Pick Up The Pieces
06. Carla Thomas - I Like What You're Doing To Me
07. Carla Thomas - B-A-B-Y
08. Carla Thomas - Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes)
09. Carla Thomas - I Have A God Who Loves
10. Rufus Thomas - The Breakdown
11. Rufus Thomas - Do The Funky Chicken
12. Rufus Thomas - Do The Funky Penguin
13. The Soul Children - I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To
14. The Soul Children - Hearsay
15. Isaac Hayes - Theme From shaft


Anonymous said...

Thanks for the re-up, it will be put to good use as day of class discussion.

Anonymous said...

already gone again... can you reup?

Mr Moodswings said...

Sorry but the blog is now closed.