How to download at MOODWINGS

MOODSWINGS doesn't host direct links any longer. All the links featured here are text files. You will have to download them, extract them (using the usual password) and open them to find your desired link.

Monday, November 9, 2009


320 KBPS

On this splendid recording, the Argentinean pianist-conductor Daniel Barenboim extends the thin line between Brazilian popular and classical music. He's joined by bassist Robert Kassinger, violinist Nikolaj Znaider, flutist Emmanuel Pahud, oboist Alex Klein, clarinetist Larry Combs, and Brazilian percussionist Cyro Baptista. They skillfully meld American jazz, classical genres, Portuguese choros, and African-derived sambas into a New World sound. Barenboim's piano lines are furious on the title track and florid on his Debussyan solo renditions of Darius Milhaud's "Corcovado" and "Sumaré" from Saudades do Brasil. Antonio Carlos Jobim reshaped the samba into the cool bossa nova, and this album's version of "Wave" reveals his melodic genius. The phenomenal singer and songwriter Milton Nascimento provides the high point of the CD, with his angelic tenor on his ebullient ballad "Travessia." Powered by Baptista's hypnotic caxixis and cuicas and guided by Barenboim's wide artistic vision, the sounds on this disc reveal the past, present, and, hopefully, the future of Brazilian music.

1. Tico Tico No Fubá
2. Travessia
3. Corcovado
4. Manha de Carnaval
5. Tristeza
6. Pedacinhos do Céu
7. Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5
8. Wave
9. Avarandado
10. Sumaré
11. Aquarela do Brasil
12. Song of the Sabiá
13. Brazilian Rhapsody
14. Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar
15. Bahia

No comments: