How to download at MOODWINGS

MOODSWINGS doesn't host direct links any longer. All the links featured here are text files. You will have to download them, extract them (using the usual password) and open them to find your desired link.

Saturday, April 10, 2010


IV (1974)
320 KBPS

Coming on the heels of the cut-and-paste sound-collage schizophrenia of The Faust Tapes, Faust IV seems relatively subdued and conventional, though it's still a far cry from what anyone outside the German avant-garde rock scene was doing. The album's disparate threads don't quite jell into something larger (as in the past), but there's still much to recommend it. The nearly 12-minute electro-acoustic opener "Krautrock" is sometimes viewed as a comment on Faust's droning, long-winded contemporaries, albeit one that would lose its point by following the same conventions. There are a couple of oddball pop numbers that capture the group's surreal sense of whimsy: one, "The Sad Skinhead," through its reggae-ish beat, and another, "It's a Bit of a Pain," by interrupting a pastoral acoustic guitar number with the most obnoxious synth noises the band can conjure. Aside from "Krautrock," there is a trend toward shorter track lengths and more vocals, but there are still some unpredictably sudden shifts in the instrumental pieces, even though it only occasionally feels like an idea is being interrupted at random (quite unlike The Faust Tapes). There are several beat-less, mostly electronic soundscapes full of fluttering, blooping synth effects, as well as plenty of the group's trademark Velvet Underground-inspired guitar primitivism, and even a Frank Zappa-esque jazz-rock passage. Overall, Faust IV comes off as more a series of not-always-related experiments, but there are more than enough intriguing moments to make it worthwhile. Unfortunately, it would be the last album the group recorded (at least in its first go-round).

Disc 1
1. Krautrock
2. The Sad Skinhead
3. Jennifer
4. Just a Second (Starts Like That)
5. Picnic on a Frozen River
6. Giggy Smile
7. Läuft...Heist das Es Läuft Oder Es Kommt Bald...Läuft
8. It's a Bit of Pain

Disc 2
1. The Lurcher [BBC Session]
2. Krautrock [BBC Session]
3. Do So [BBC Session]
4. Jennifer [Alternate Version]
5. The Sad Skinhead [Alternate Version]
6. Just a Second (Starts Like That) [Extended Version]
7. Piano Piece
8. Läuft...Heist das Es Läuft Oder Es Kommt Bald...Läuft [Alternate Version]
9. Giggy Smile [Alternate Version]


Anonymous said...

The No.3 Jennifer of the original disc is missing.

Mr Moodswings said...

Actually, it's there. It's just the track-list that is wrong, it should go like this:
1. Krautrock
2. The Sad Skinhead
3. Jennifer/Just a Second (Starts Like That)
4. Picnic on a Frozen River
5. Giggy Smile
6. Läuft...Heist das Es Läuft Oder Es Kommt Bald...Läuft
7. It's a Bit of Pain