How to download at MOODWINGS

MOODSWINGS doesn't host direct links any longer. All the links featured here are text files. You will have to download them, extract them (using the usual password) and open them to find your desired link.

Friday, December 11, 2009


320 KBPS

The final Townes Van Zandt studio record before a nine-year-long mid-'70s recording drought, Flyin' Shoes has the advantage of Van Zandt's usual stellar songs, a famed producer (Chips Moman), and a boatload of first-class sidemen, including Jimmy Day, Randy Scruggs, and Spooner Oldham. The production is reasonably spare, allowing the quality of the songwriting and Van Zandt's creaky voice to shine through. There aren't any clunkers here, but neither is there an archetypal Van Zandt tune. "Snake Song," "No Place to Fall," and "When She Don't Need Me" are solid, likable mid-career Van Zandt. A cover of Bo Diddley's "Who Do You Love" is a genuine oddity. A number of songs here were first recorded in earlier sessions that were released in 1993 under the title The Nashville Sessions but the four bonus tracks on this remastered version win it over any other version you might have heard. A neat introduction to a greatly underrated songwriter.

1. Dollar Bill Blues
2. Rex's Blues
3. Pueblo Waltz
4. Brother Flower
5. Snake Song
6. Loretta
7. No Place to Fall
8. Flyin' Shoes
9. Who Do You Love
10. When She Don't Need Me
Bonus Tracks
11. The Spider Song
12. Upon My Soul
13. Buckskin Stallion Blues
14. At My Window

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

TVZ is the greatest! Brilliant album this. W.