How to download at MOODWINGS

MOODSWINGS doesn't host direct links any longer. All the links featured here are text files. You will have to download them, extract them (using the usual password) and open them to find your desired link.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010


320 KBPS

429 Records has brought together a stellar roster of artists for a project titled THE VILLAGE: A CELEBRATION OF THE MUSIC OF GREENWICH VILLAGE a musical homage to an influential scene that thrived during an incomparable era in the history of rock music. The Greenwich Village neighborhood of New York City in the 1960 s was ground zero for a musical, political and social evolution-- McCarthy and the Red Scare era was over, the Vietnam War was simmering and poised to explode, and the civil rights movement was gaining steam just as singers like Peter Seeger, Bob Dylan and Odetta were hanging out and composing fierce and fearless songs that reflected the social conscience of a generation. The neighborhood was symbolic of a shared inspiration with artists worldwide gravitating to the vibrant streets and clubs and as such helped change the course of popular music.
Says Susan Rotolo author of the recent bestseller 'A Freewheelin Time: A Memoir of Greenwich Village in the Sixties' and writer of THE VILLAGE liner notes: 'The performers from that time, and the songs they wrote, made a notable contribution not only to the legend of Greenwich Village but also to music in general. No one who is young, making music and hanging out, thinks in historical terms, but the passage of time allows for such a perspective. Cultural history was made.'
With THE VILLAGE, modern day artists look back and pay tribute to the artists and songs that helped nurture and shape them as successful musicians in their own right. Shelby Lynne gives a musical shout out to Dylan with her version of 'Don t Think Twice, It s Alright,' Cowboy Junkies perform their heartbreaking version of Tim Buckley s 'Once I Was' and Bruce Hornsby checks in with a stunning version of The Lovin Spoonful s 'Darlin Be Home Soon.' THE VILLAGE also features performances by Rickie Lee Jones, Lucinda Williams, Rachael Yamagata, Amos Lee, Sixpence None the Richer, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Rocco DeLuca, John Oates, The Duhks, and Los Lobos.

1. Subterranean Homesick Blues (Rickie Lee Jones)
2. It's All Right Ma (The Duhks)
3. Positively 4th Street (Lucinda Williams)
4. Wayfaring Stranger (Sixpence None the Richer)
5. He Was a Friend of Mine (John Oates)
6. Guantanamera (Los Lobos)
7. Violets of Dawn (Mary Chapin Carpenter)
8. Darlin' Be Home Soon (Bruce Hornsby)
9. Little Bit O' Rain (Amos Lee)
10. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright (Shelby Lynne)
11. Once I Was (Cowboy Junkies)
12. Both Sides Now (Rachael Yamagata)
13. The Ballad of Hollis Brown (Rocco DeLuca)

No comments: