How to download at MOODWINGS

MOODSWINGS doesn't host direct links any longer. All the links featured here are text files. You will have to download them, extract them (using the usual password) and open them to find your desired link.

Monday, January 11, 2010


320 KBPS

It's quite a risk for any jazz vocalist to record a tribute to the great Bill Holiday especially when songs like "Strange Fruit" and "Gloomy Sunday" are featured. Laïka Fatien, born in 1968 of Ivory-Coastian and Moroccan descend but born and raised in Paris, manages it with wit and taste. Audacious and assertive as well as repectful of tradition, this album created quite an enthusiastic buzz in French jazz circles when it came out. And it, indeed, is a wonderful collection where her wild and sensual voice does wonders. Exquisitely accompanied by Robert Glasper (piano), Daryl Hall (bass), Gregory Hutchinson (drums) as well as French saxophonist extraordinaire David El-Malek on 3 tracks, she offers us a classy and moving tribute to one of the goddesses of the blue note. A must hear.

1. Strange Fruit
2. Lady’s Back In Town
3. Don’t Explain
4. You Can Loose a Broken Heart (feat. David El-Malek)
5. What’s New (feat. David El-Malek)
6. All Of You
7. How Deep Is The Ocean
8. Lover Come Back To Me
9. Misery
10. You Turn The Tables On Me
11. Gloomy Sunday
12. Left Alone (feat. David El-Malek)

No comments: