How to download at MOODWINGS

MOODSWINGS doesn't host direct links any longer. All the links featured here are text files. You will have to download them, extract them (using the usual password) and open them to find your desired link.

Thursday, February 11, 2010


320 KBPS

Even when he was a full-time jazz cat, Quincy Jones always had an ear for the pop aesthetic. This 1962 record does contain a good bit of, how you say, queijo in its unsubtle arrangements, but it is for the most part an accessible, entertaining, and bubbly affair. And with musicians of the caliber of Rahsaan Roland Kirk, Paul Gonsalves, Clark Terry, Jim Hall (who can't help but be tasteful), and Phil Woods all contributing ideas, a baseline quality is assured. Most significantly, Jones goes beyond the expected Jobim and Bonfa cuts to fit Lerner & Loewe and even Mingus into bossa nova's bright clothes. So, to sum things up, this is the ideal record for a cocktail party if not a mindblowing listening experience.

1. Soul Bossa Nova
2. Boogie Stop Shuffle
3. Desafinado
4. Manha De Carnaval (Morning Of The Carnival)
5. Se E Tarde Me Pardoa (Forgive Me If I'm Late)
6. On The Street Where You Live
7. Samba De Una Nota So (One Note Samba)
8. Lalo Bossa Nova
9. Serenata
10. Chega De Saudade (No More Blues)
Bonus Track
11. A Taste Of Honey

No comments: